ISSN 2394-5125
 

Research Article 


EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda.

Abstract
This study was conducted to determine the effect of transcutaneous electrical acupoint stimulation
(TEAS) on postmenopausal hypertension. It was conducted from 27 July 2020 to 29 October 2020.
Forty postmenopausal women (with at least one year after last menstruation) suffering from high blood
pressure (diagnosed by a gynecologist) participated in this study. The participants' ages and body mass
index were 50-65 years, 24.2-34.5 kg/m respectively. Their blood pressure ranged from 150/95 to
170/108 mmHg. Their selection was from Mansoura New General Hospital (Department of Obstetrics
and Gynecology). They were allocated randomly into 2 equal number groups, 20 for each; the first
group (Study group) received low-frequency TENS (4 Hz) on 3 acupoints (Pericardium-6, Spleen-6,
and Liver-3) bilaterally at the same time for 40 minutes per session, once per day, 3 days per week for
5 weeks (total 15 sessions) in addition to the antihypertensive drug (Captopril-25 mg tablets twice
daily), while the second group (Control group) received the same antihypertensive drug only
(Captopril-25 mg tablets twice daily).
Hypertension was evaluated by a mercury sphygmomanometer and stethoscope pre and post-treatment
of both groups. A statistically significant reduction in systolic and diastolic blood pressure in the study
and control groups (P < 0.001) was observed in the findings of this study, but when compared between
results of the two groups, we found that the study group (G1) displayed a statistically significant
reduction in both systolic and diastolic BP than the control group (G2) (P < 0.001). Finally, based on
the obtained results of this study, adding TEAS to the postmenopausal hypertension treatment
produced a statistically significant improvement in blood pressure. So, applying transcutaneous
electrical nerve stimulation on acupoints (TEAS) should be considered an adjunctive treatment method
for postmenopausal hypertension.

Key words: Post-menopause, Hypertension, Systolic blood pressure, Diastolic blood pressure, and TEAS.


 
ARTICLE TOOLS
Abstract
PDF Fulltext
How to cite this articleHow to cite this article
Citation Tools
Related Records
 Articles by Amira I. Hassanein
Articles by Hala M. Hanfy
Articles by Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel
Articles by Reham E. Hamoda
on Google
on Google Scholar


How to Cite this Article
Pubmed Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda. EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION. JCR. 2021; 8(1): 550-562. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60


Web Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda. EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION. http://www.jcreview.com/?mno=52940 [Access: February 06, 2021]. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60


AMA (American Medical Association) Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda. EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION. JCR. 2021; 8(1): 550-562. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60



Vancouver/ICMJE Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda. EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION. JCR. (2021), [cited February 06, 2021]; 8(1): 550-562. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60



Harvard Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda (2021) EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION. JCR, 8 (1), 550-562. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60



Turabian Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda. 2021. EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION. Journal of Critical Reviews, 8 (1), 550-562. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60



Chicago Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda. "EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION." Journal of Critical Reviews 8 (2021), 550-562. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60



MLA (The Modern Language Association) Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda. "EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION." Journal of Critical Reviews 8.1 (2021), 550-562. Print. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60



APA (American Psychological Association) Style

Amira I. Hassanein, Hala M. Hanfy, Hossam Al-Din H. Kamel, Reham E. Hamoda (2021) EFFECT OF TENS ON ACUPOINTS FOR POSTMENOPAUSAL HYPERTENSION. Journal of Critical Reviews, 8 (1), 550-562. doi:10.31838/jcr.08.01.60